Introduction 

within this session we touched upon the different uses of foliage sounds within games and how they set a mood to the players gaming experience. Looking souly at a death scene in the game Limbo we had to identify the sounds that are within the game and then create or own sounds using different objects to create an close recreation of the games original sound.

We had to record sounds with ordinary paper that we though match the original the best and then we had to gather sounds from everyday objects around our own houses to recreate the same clip with these sounds.

At the beginning of the task we was given this short 11 second track that was off of a game called ‘Limbo’  where we had 10 minutes to watch it over and over again so we could get an understanding of what sounds are within the short clip. I created a table that shows what sounds that are within the clip so I could quickly identify what the different sounds were within the clip, this helped me with the next task at hand.

After I go an idea on as many sounds as I personally could decipher within the clip we was then split into groups of three where we then had to discuss the different sound that were within the track and as well as this how we could recreate them.

This was one of the more enjoyable parts to do within this task we was given a piece of paper and we then had to experiment the different way that we could make sounds with the piece of paper and then match them with the original audio clip.

Recording the sounds 

After we had decided what sounds suited each original sounds as well as it possibly could we then set off with the recording equipment to a suitable area where there was no background interference which will distort the sound and make it hard to hear the sound. Recording was a difficult part to do because there was a whole lot of sound in the background most of the time time.

When there wasn’t any sounds we decided to record each sound at least 2 times to make sure that if one sounds clearer than the other or weather its a better quality sound over all. I did the same thing when I did my own recordings at home with everyday objects this is so that when it comes to the editing stage I can choose the one recording that I think best fits the game play video.

After I had recorded the sounds that I thought would best fit with the video clip I then refereed the original and then aligned them up to the appropriate  position that they needed to be at within the clip this is so when I start applying them to the video i will know exactly where to place the audio clips.

Editing the sound clips

Now came the editing stage this took some time to get the sounds that I recorded to be as accurate to the original as I possibly could and make the sounds seem like they are from the game itself, making sure they aren’t obscure or hard to hear within the video clip.

I got rid of some of the parts that weren’t very important which was the beginning indent – that was needed to identify the clip – I then clipped around the piece of audio that went correctly to the part of the track that I was going to re dub with this sound. I counselled out the hiss by using the counsel audio tool which helped isolated only the sound that I needed making it crisp and clear to understand what the sound was for and if it matched the video clip.

Dubbed footage

Dubbing the footage was a rather enjoyable task to do by aligning the edited tracks exact to changing the pitch of them in order to make them as accurate to the original as possible.

 

 

This first re-dubbing that I did was to do with using paper to create sounds that are used within the original clip. These sounds are composed of many different uses that are created by paper, these took time to record because the main reason why this was is because figuring out what sounds would best fit a specific part was hard to find.

As well as this it was a little challenging to figure out how these sounds were made and then how to place them within the original footage. Compared to the original footage the sounds do sound very similar, however there is no background ambience which changes the whole mood of the footage.

 

 

The second recording is from house hold objects that I recorded to create sounds in which I will then add to the Limbo clip, these sounds were harder to come up with because it was harder to identify and figure out what sound would best fit each specific part of the clip the best.

After I found the sounds of which I though best fit the clip it was very easy to line them up and put them to the correct place on the clip, this was mainly because of the experience I gathered from doing the first audio re dub.

 

Evaluation 

The comparison between the two different audio re-dubbing was that the paper sounds gave more of a realistic feel to most of the sounds, this is because of the tones were better recorded, clearer to hear and they didn’t have any background humming within the recording that made it easier to edit the sounds.

 

