Introduction

Within this Blog post I am going to explain the skills that I have learnt throughout the year and how they are going to help me with my final major project and where would the project fit in the production process of a game.

Skills that I have learnt throughout the year so far:

I have learnt how to use 3Ds max in various amount of tools that enable me to create 3D assets and a various amount of other things to a professionally set standard. I have learn how to grey box as well as create in depth and highly detailed assets that I have used within my other projects.

This will help me with my final major project because two of the ideas I can think of consist of a few to a lot of assets that are going to be within the space of a room or another environment area.

As well as this I have learnt how to specifically texture items to give them a sense of realism as well as giving them an edge – making them “pop” out of the screen – this also entails my skills of being able to UVW map.

This will help me with my final major project because at least on of my ideas is going to have photo realism so these skills are really going to help me in creating the photo realism that I need of that idea. Where as for the other ides it won’t have much of an impact on.

I have touched up upon doing perspective drawings, looking at the different angles of an images and being able to intemperate what an image would look like from every angle and being able to intemperate them.

Where would the project fit in the production process of a game?

For the 3D ideas these fit within the gaming industry at the pre-production, production and if there is a referral needed to either sort a few bugs out or create more assets it would be used in post-production.

For the concept art idea this would fit within pre-production as well as a little within the production stages of the gaming industry, this is because it will be used to show the designers what your idea is before you start creating the whole project and it would be used within the production process by being used as reference.

 

Requirements of my projects

In order to complete my final major project I am going to have to gather information based around my the certain project that I am doing, finding out the structure and the dynamics of the object/s that that I am going to be creating. After the correct information is acquired I am going to conduct some primary research and draw up a few of my own sketches to get a rough idea of what it is going to look like and start to make.

I am going to need a computer that is going to be able to handle the amount of programs that I will need in order to make my final major project to be able to be successful in my creation process.

